TPO 46 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Admiring celebrities is a phenomena that appeared centuries ago and is continuing till now. My parents and I all have our favorite celebrities. Nevertheless, in my opinion, I agree that celebrities are more important to young people than they are to older people.

First of all, nowadays people are way more easier to get information from the celebrities and to be influenced by them. In the past, we could only expose to the news of celebrities through television or newspaper. In comparison, we can peek celebrities' life through social media everyday. Due to keep appearing in people’s life, celebrities can make people eager to copy their life. To take myself for an example, I have followed my favorite singer, Jolin Cai, on Instagram. When I see her shares new clothes, my desire of having the same clothes arouse. Thus, my shopping behavior are being affected by the celebrity.

Secondly, celebrities that older people love are rarely still active, so older people are not that enthusiastic on chasing stars. Most of us have celebrities crush on celebrities who are similar to our age, but celebrities normally retired earlier than normal people. For example, my father have loved multiple singers during 1980. Those singers are now all over fifty years old, and most of them are rarely perform in the public or appear on social media. Hence, he will only pay attention to their news one in a few years.

Admittedly, in recent years, people can become famous easier through multiple platforms, such as Instagram, YouTube, or even memes. That is to say, more and more people become famous and have power to influence people from any ages. However, older people are mature enough to not be affected by celebrities they just known even though they are at the same generation from my perspective. Older people are more experienced that make them hard to admire other people.

To sum up, celebrities are more important to young people than they are to older people.