TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Celebrities have a huge impact in terms of influence people. Due to the fact they have a large number of fans or followers their statements have the power to change people thoughts. Both youngers and elders may be influenced by celebrities. Personally, I think that since the fact they are connected and due to the lack of maturity, the youngers are more susceptible to be influenced by opinions of famous entertainers and athletes.

Young people do not have enough maturity to think for themselves. In other words, the limited life experience of youngers does not provide enough knowledge to judge or criticize external opinions. Because of that, they are easily influenced by celebrities. For instance, recently I have seen an actress posting on her twitter a comment about mining. She thought that mining was unnecessary and only generates negative impacts on the environment. After that, several young people start to complain about mining. Even the controversial that lies in a comment posted by a computer or smartphone that was manufactured using elements provided by the mining industry.

In addition, the younger ones are more connected, with instant communications technologies such as Twitter, Facebook, YouTube and Instagram than the elders. Youngers usually spend tons of time on social media. Due to this fact they are in constant contact with celebrities opinions which increase the chance to be influenced. For example, I saw many friends of mine with age less than 18, changing their thoughts about a famous political candidate to majors election this year, because of a youtube that posted information about a fake case of corruption involving this politician.

To sum up, famous artists, pop singers, and athletes are able to influence people especially the young one. The influence can be good or bad, but it's certain that youngers have not the maturity to criticize that influence.