TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Being aware of the events around us especially on a global scale is particularly important to lead a balanced knowledgable lifestyle. Without it, we could end up in very unpleasant situations and, besides having outdated information, regretting that we missed our chances to increase our general knowledge and experiences.

First, it is of utmost prominence nowadays to be aware of what is happening in the world simply because it may be an indicator of our general knowledge. People can judge us easily by measuring how much we know, and therefore, have a major impact on our social life. I remember one day, for instance, when my American friend was asked by some Arab guy about his opinion on the terrible war taking place in the Gulf countries. My friend replied naively by saying that which war are you talking about? My friend was simply unaware that Saudi Arabia was bombarding Yemen all day and night for around two years or so. Bottom line, the Arab guy was shocked and kind of reprimanded the American guy for his "illiteracy", let alone the negative statements he spit out against the American people altogether. Not to say that the Arab was right about his attitude towards the American; such an event and the like are unnecessary that could lead to a generalization about some societies due to a single misinformation

In addition, assuming that being unaware of what's going on in the world won't affect our daily life, it does not mean that it won't affect our lives in the long run. It exactly like a snowball effect, if you keep on ignoring global news about anything like politics, economy, science, history, or whatever major issues, you will just end up having sort of a displaced mind being present in a location but disconnected from time and space, so to speak.

Moreover, keeping up with global news and event is especially pivotal to broaden our experiences in life. It particularly positively improves our critical thinking ability; a trait that I think we all need mostly to be able to tackle the hardship of our daily lives.

To sum up, I do agree that we should be aware of what is happening around the world as it provided us with a plethora of advantages including but not limited to broadening one's knowledge and experiences and being continuously updated.