Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Communication is an essential part of our current modern technology. Without it, people will just fail to be updated about the everyday situation of others. Children, on the other hand, don't need such communication in the form of smartphones due to several reasons.

First and foremost, the brains of children are in an immature physiological state, i.e., they keep on forming new neurological networks as they grow up and experience new things. That being said, when you give a child a mobile phone with seemingly unlimited internet access, you are subjecting him to an uncontrollable internet survey that is strife with negative content; thereby, new neural networks would be formed based on these contents, and eventually, that would inevitably have a deep impact on the psychology of the child. For instance, imagine a child who ended up on a website on drugs and how to get hooked up, reading through all the content, engaging in discussions, and ultimately, buying and consuming such drugs. The odds that this child will continue this habit are pretty high. This situation would only perpetuate to the worst.

Another problem associated with open internet access is the game addiction. No one doubts that children are inclined to spend long hours playing games due to the enjoyment they get out of it. But too much of games has noticeable negative consequences. To illustrate this idea further, remember that children are obliged to go to schools and have their education running smoothly including passing exams with high grades, ensuring the most possible success. Spending a lot of time on games, however, would definitely interfere with the educational process of children; because they feel happier while playing, they would feel less eager for studying for an exam.

Last but not least, a potential downfall for children to own smartphones is limited social interaction. No wonder why most children develop onto being isolated and kinda autistic in their behavior; it is mostly due to the curse of the current technology in which children live in some kind of virtual reality.

To sum up, having children to communicate with others does not justify them owing smartphones due to several bad consequences that would outweigh the benefits of having them. In other words, the ends don't justify the means in this case.