TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is considered one of the most important aspects in our lives. Nowadays, the life is very tough and we cannot live without our friends. We meet many people all day long even at work or at our daily activities. I am sure that some people agree that it is a great idea to maintain your old friends to be happy, While others would agree that it is much better to build new friendship with more new friends. However, when it comes to me I totally agree that it if more important to save your old friends to be satisfied more than get new more friends. I feel this way for two important reasons, which I will demonstrate in the following essay.

To begin with, we can trust our old friends more than new ones. Recently, we deal with many issues at our lives and we always in need to some one to share us our decisions. For instance, my cousin has his closed high school friends and he always trust him. Last year, he got a new opportunity to work in a multinational company at different state and he was totally hesitated to take the moving decision. In fact, he asked his closed friend to give him advice. This is because he trust in him so much since they were at school. Moreover, his friend advised him to take that opportunity because he was so caring about him and caring about his future. Consequently, my cousin took his friend opinion into his consideration because he rely on him. On the other hand, my cousin could not trust any one of his new friends to ask the about that decision. In fact, he thought that they could tell everyone about his secrets. As you can see, we always back to our old friends when we need any help because they knew everything about us and they always share us in bad and good news.

In addition, help that provided by old friends make us so happy. We can depend on our closed friends at any hard circumstances. For example, my brother's friend was in a hard situation and he could not pay his rent. As a result, he asked many of his new friends at dorm to lend him one thousand dollars, but they refused to give him anything. Nevertheless, when this friend asked my brother to borrow one thousand dollars from him and he promised that he will return it after a certin time, my brother agreed. Moreover, my brother offered him more money because he trust him so much and he know that his friend is very commetted. So, my brother's friend paid for the rent and he became so happy. However, his new friends made him so upset due to their bad situation. This experience taught me that the close friends can trust each other and they can help each other.

In sum, I totally convinced that we have to keep our relationship so closed with our old mates. This is because we can trust them and we can tell them anything about our personal lives, and because they always provide us with a good help once we need which make us live a good quality of life.