TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that people who maintain their olden friendship are happier and with higher self-confidence than who changing their friend's group a lot. So the ability to maintain the old friendship is superior to ability to make new friends so quickly. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that if we have many friends instead of limited our friend's group to a few people, we would be more satisfying because we can get assistance from more person at the time of problems. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that the ability to maintain a friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

First and foremost, the old friends are who stand up to help us during crisis times. For example, two years ago, I had serious business failures and I should sell my house. None of my co-worker whose I really account on them did not support me at this time. Notwithstanding, one of my close friends borrow money to me and help me to rise from ashes.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that close friends can more understand you and they are more trustworthy. When we know someone for long period of time, we can confidence to them and sharing our concern with them and getting a consultation from them. For instance, my friends and I always speak about our family problems together and all of us try honestly to find solution for them.

Finally, yet importantly, people who make new friends frequently are not favorable person in society. People see them as a person that just think about their own benefit and make a relationship with others to take advantage of it. People believe that they are free from moral beliefs and humanity values. Therefore, they are almost very alone in oppose of their high skill in starting a relationship with other ones.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that maintaining deep friendships has priority to make many new friends. Because close friends are more caring and confidence than new friends and people with weakness in keeping old friends are mainly alone and sad individuals.