TPO 49 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that all psychologist and religious guides subscribe that maintaining old friendships are very important for happiness and success of people. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that good living in modern society, need the wonderful ability to make new friendships with powerful people. Whereby, we can obtain a lot of benefits from them. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that the ability to maintain a friendship with few number of people over the long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make new friends easily.

First and foremost, merely old friends are who stand in our side at the time of problems. For example, three years ago, I faced with a serious failure in my business. I was pre-near to lose everything, I should sell my house and car. Nonetheless, some of my school friends assisted me, and help me to pass this terrible time. They borrowed some money to rent a house and helped me to find a new job. While all of my co-worker that I was really counting on them, left me behind.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that old friends are just a solid person which we can get advice from them. We know them for the long period of time, so their confidence and genuine proof to us. Nevertheless, maybe, some advice of new friends drive us to wrong ways. Because some people abuse from our problems to take advantage of it. For example, my business depression was because of deceiving suggestion of one of my colleague.

Finally, yet importantly, people who make a lot of friends, but are not able to keep their old friendships, always feeling loneliness. Most short-term friendships, forming for some specific aims that have some benefits for both sides. Therefore, in each of them do not shape deep feelings, which is necessary for creating a sense of belonging and happiness in human. This fact can explain why the incidence of depression and stress is higher in those people rather people who maintain their old friendships.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that the ability to maintain friendships with few number of people is more important than making a lot of new friends easily. Because old friends are the confidence supporter and adviser for us, and they are the person who can have the role of a nice family for us.