TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Being sociable plays a major role in a person's life. People need friends in order to make their lives social and enjoyable. Friendship has such a crucial effect on life that living without friend would not be possible. Although people have consensus on the very essential role of friendship in different aspect of life, especially happiness, there has been controversy among them whether it is more important to have the ability to keep friendship with a small group of people over a long period of time in order to pursue happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

To begin with, it should be mentioned that the ability of making new friends proves that a person have high quality of sociable characteristic. This social being brings a beneficial feature with itself and it is the fact that one with such an ability is able to spend more time with his friends and provide himself with happiness, in exchange. For instance, when a person increase his range of friends in number, it is crystal clear that he can attend more birthday party to celebrate and be happy. In this manner, happiness can be easily reached by extending friendship.

The second point is that if a person makes many new friends easily, it will be possible for him to experience many new activities with which his friends enjoy. Consequently, it would be even more interesting if that person has not experienced that activities before. For example, suppose that Sara is afraid of swimming alone. Recently, she has started to become familiar with James, who loves and enjoys swimming. Because of this friendship, Sarah has started swimming and now she feels happy. According to this sample, it is obvious how making new friends can lead to happiness.

Finally, friends help each other with their problems and devote their time an energy to solve each other's trouble. Based on this statement, making new friends means not only more people for getting help from them, but also more probable the problem to be solved. Thus, when the problem is solved, both the person who had the problem and his friends who helped him with solving that issue would feel happy.

In conclusion, I believe that making many new friends is more important for happiness than the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time, since the former is more advantageous than the latter.