TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

In today's societies, the question whether the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a time is more important for happiness than the ability to make new friend has become a controversial issue among people in many circles and camps. Different people have diverse types of responses to this topic based on their cultural, social, or even familial backgrounds. However, as far as I'm concerned, I believed that having few old friends have more influence in my happiness than making a new friend for some reasons that I elaborate them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing immediately comes to mind is that when someone has an old relationship with some of his friends, they become close friends. A close friend is a reliable person who can help everyone to eliminate his mental problems as well as his monetary problems. In other words, people can reduce a lot of their life’s tensions with the help of their friends who have a long time relationship with him. Therefore, people become more delighted. let's make a brief explanation about that. According to the survey which was conducted in Tehran University in Iran, about 95 percent of participants believed that they only trusted to their old friend and if they had any problem, they will ask from close friends to help them.

Another noteworthy aspect that should be mentioned is that most of the people feel more comfortable when they are with their old friends. It means that they can easily speak about everything without any worries about the misconception of their friends. Accordingly, people feel more relax and also have much fun time along with their close friends. Thus, they absolutely feel happier in comparison with when they are with their new friends. Let me shed a light on my point. Based on the researches that were published in a well-known journal, Scientist found out that people rarely talk about their strange willing among their new friends because they thought that it can be bad effects on their new friend's mind.

Broadly speaking, There are a plenty of reasons to show that maintaining old friendship causes more happiness than making new friends. Not only old friends are more reliable in various situations but also people are more comfortable when they are with their close friends. Hence, It is essential that any person try to sustain his relation at least with few of his old friends.