TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, arts and sports are very important and both considered one of the most important aspects in our life. People have different interests during their daily activities. I believe some people will support the idea that government should support the arts more than sports. However, when it comes to me I honestly believe that our government should spend more money on sports such as Olympic team than the arts for two reasons. I will demonstrate my opinion in the following essay.

To begin with, sports help people to be healthy. Many people try to practice activities like going to gym, running in the morning, going to clubs for swimming, and walking on treadmill. All of these activities help people to feel energized and active. For example, my uncle is living in Egypt and he is going to the club every day. He told me that the egyption government spent two million Egyption pounds last decay to build many swimming pools and tremendous sports area that contain many athletics tools. In addition, many citizens over there started to practice exercises in these places, as a results, many people right now are very healthy and they decreased their chance to develop diabetes, hypertension, and they avoid obesity. So, the government saved a lot of money that they used to spend on medical issues. This experience taught me that the sports can keep many people so healthy.

In addition, sports help people to reduce their stress. Right now many people are so stressed with their works and they face many problems during the day. So, they need something like practice exercises to forget about all of these issues. For instance, my brother is a doctor and he is working in a big hospital at New York. He working long day and he is facing many difficult situations with his patient. Furthermore, he has to take care of his children. In fact, he started to join the gym last month. He told me that after spending couple of hours at gym, he can feel energized, refreshed, forget about his stress. Furthermore, he can start the day after with fully power. On the other hand, one day, he tried to play music, but he could not even know how to use the music tool. As a result, he felt so annoyed and he was shy in front of people. Since then he stop practice any music activity. Consequently, practice sports was so helpful for him more than the arts. As you can see, many people prefer sports rather than arts. So, government should make a big investment in sports field instead of arts majors.

In sum, I believe that governmental agencies should give more support to sports than the arts. This is because sports help people to be healthy, and because sports help many people to relief their stress and enjoy their social life.