TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

There are different views on friendship. Some may think that it is better to maintain friendships with a fewer people for a long time gives more happiness. Others may disagree. They prefer to make more friends. In my opinion, the ability to make many new friends is better.

First, making many new friends is an advantage because one can learn how to interact with others. Doubtlessly, such interactions with other people will help you to enhance the ability to think and to learn new things. For instance, two years ago, during my university time at the JNTU university in India, there are different students from different places like China and Africa. On one day, I spoke to one of them and, we became friends. My friend Ali was able to tell me about their traditions, culture, and customs. As a result, I learned a lot of things from him. This helped me to understand their mindset. Therefore, making new friends helps to broaden your mind and to understand different people.

Second, making new friends will help you not to feel lonely in any circumstances. It is evident that, if you cannot speak to the other people at any time you will be bored. For example, in the past when I was studying in high school, I have a friend who speaks only to old friends. Once in class, all of her friends were absent, then she was unable to speak with other people. She really felt lonely as she does not have the ability to make new friends. Furthermore, she was unable to enhance her skills to learn new languages. Consequently, one should make new friends, which helps them to be happier in any situation.

In conclusion, I believe that making new friends helps to be happy and to increase knowledge. That is why one should make new friends.