TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The fact that "ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make new friends" has always been controversial and it will remain the same. Being human, we all have our own thought processes and we stick to that. So, here I will be stating my point of view about the aforesaid topic, i.e. friendship.

According to me, rather than making a huge number of superficial friends(mostly through social media like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.), making friends with a smaller number of people gives me more happiness. And, mostly this small friendship circle gets created in our initial childhood days, might be in school or our residential areas. So, as the days pass by, the bond gets stronger and our compatibility also matches better. They would be knowing more about you than some random friends, and you will also be more comfortable in discussing your feelings (sorrow or happiness) rather than to some random new friend.

I have a childhood friend named Moumita since school days and we are still good friends and going very strong. Though it is very rare that we hardly get any time to meet in person as we stay geographically apart, still we manage to take out some time to make calls or video chat and share talks about our day to day life and different experiences. It feels good to cherish our childhood days and what all activities we used to do together. I often share those experiences with my daughter and she also enjoys a lot. I hope our friendship stays strong till the last day and wish my daughter also finds some close and good friends like I have.

So, in conclusion, I would say that we should always look for quality friendship and not quantity friendship and maintain them strong till the end.