TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Since the dawn of humanity, relationships, which is among the most concerns of a human being. To acquire this phenomenon mankind always want to communicate with others. Despite the fact that relationship, especially friendship plays an important role in society, many people do not agree with close friendships is one goal of being happy in daily life. There are some pros and cons of this issue, which are discussed in details in the following paragraphs.

Without any shadow of doubt, the most important reason that comes to mind is that, if you have some close friends you can rely on them to tell your secrets. One of the most critical moments in all people’s life is that how they could handle their challenges in routine life. As a matter of the fact, if you can trust someone to tell your troubles, you will consult with him or her. This situation and this trust atmosphere do not come into account if cannot rely on that person, thus having some friend which to know each other for a long period of time is the main goal to achieve this purpose. Additionally, if you could solve your problems you probably would be happier in your life. In this regard, there is a particular research which is done at psychology department of University of Tehran, Iran, shown that if people could create trust climate and relaying atmosphere with others they will be happier. Statistics shown that the ability to make friends easily does not play an important role in making someone happy.

Aside from that, generally speaking, another reason that is equally important as the first one is you have more common things to speak in your routine life with your long-time friends. There is a Persian proverb that says, "You could find out a characteristics of someone’s by knowing his friends." This means that friends always effect on each other, so you are more similar to your friends which are known for long period of time to whom just meet him or her. Thus they could make you happy just by words. On the other hand, new people in your life have to spend a lot of time and energy to find something could make you happy. I have five friend which I just met them in first year of my bachelor, and a lot of friends which are communicate with them for short period of time. My close relationships is with the old friends, because they know all about me and it makes me happy.

Taking into account diverse matters, two of which were elaborated upon, I decided to have some close friends which they know me for a long period of time is better to the ability to make friends easily.