TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It has been always a controversial debate that government how to allocate their budget for different purpose. Some people think that the improvement of the internet access is more necessary than public transportation, however, in my opinion, because of the increase in the population around the world governments should spend more money on public transportation improvement. I feel this way for some reasons that I will explore in the following essay:

First of all, as all we know, today we are faced with many environmental issues such as air pollution. With the improvement of public transportation, people would be encouraged more to use them instead of their cars for going to their workplace and other places around the city. For example, imagine a metropolitan city, if there would be many buses or subway stations around the city in many areas, people would rather to use them for their transportation. Consequently, the usage of fossil fuels would be declined and as a result the amount of released CO2 into the atmosphere would be dramatically decreased. Hence, in my opinion it is more beneficial if governments spend more money to build more subway routs or bus stations and equipped the available systems with faster and modern buses or trains.

Moreover, the improvement of the public transportation can result in reduction of traffic. Nowadays, many people waste time by getting stuck in traffic. However, if people have easy access to fast and convenient transportation system they could save more time. Therefore, as they have more time their output would be increased a lot and also their satisfaction from their life would be raised too. my personal experiment is a compelling evidence of this: till last year there was not any subway near my house and I had to go to my workplace every day with my car and because of the high traffic I had to wake up early mornings. But after the building and development of the subway routs, now I can use it and further than reduction in traffic in our region, it is not necessary for me to wake up early in the mornings and I don’t feel tired during my working hours. In addition I arrive home earlier than before and I have more free time to do my stuffs.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that, its better to allocate more budget for developing the transportation system because further than helping to the environmental issues, which are very significant nowadays, it would result in reduction of traffic in cities.