TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which one do you think is more important for each society? Arts or sports? In the contemporary world, sports not only are considered as important as arts but also their budget surpassed others’. Answering the question of whether authorities should spend more money on arts than sports can provoke imminent controversies owing to a variety of factors contributing to the formation of a multidimensional viewpoint involving careful analysis. A number of people are in the conviction that athletes are renowned among people with different backgrounds; therefore, governments should allocate most of their budget to sports. Their supposition is at odds with some others' from another camp embracing the view that although sports are fun and have many advantages, governments should consider a higher priority for arts than sports because art is an essential aspect of each society and nationality; in fact, from my vantage point, the latter carries more weight. Reasons directing me toward this belief are manifold, but two conspicuous of which are: arts is a good representation each culture and history, and it can be both amusement and financially beneficial, upon which I elaborated the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, one cogent reason corroborating my deduction is that art represents each country's culture and history. Throughout the history, humans have been demonstrating their beliefs and important events by means of painting, sculpture, and so forth. Thus, one can learn about the country's history only by analyzing their arts existed from ancient times. It can be exemplified by referring to my personal experience of visiting Italy last summer. I had read many articles and books about Romans’ Empire before visiting Italy, but I figured out how enormous it was and how rich their culture while visiting historical places and art works in person. Ergo, it can be readily confirmed that arts are an essential part of each culture. Hence, governments must spend a considerable amount of money in preserving the arts and representing them to the world.

The second compelling reason deserving some words here is that governments can benefit from arts economically. One can find culture in art works such as paintings, statues, and so on. Tourists from all around the globe tend to visit countries having rich culture and history. As tourism is a highly profitable, governments can earn a tremendous amount of money by investing in the arts. For instance, my country, Iran, is a historical country with a large amount of oil. A research conducted by researchers at Amirkabir University of Technology two years ago indicated that the Iranian government can eliminate its dependency on oil in three years by investing four thousand dollars in arts. thus, investing in arts undoubtedly affect country’s economy positively.

All in all, if the above discussion is contemplated, it can be concluded that even though it is nice to support athletes to obtain precious medals, governments should concentrate on arts. Moreover, people benefit from arts directly both financially and morally. As a result, it is vital to spend as much money as possible on art.