TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, hectic modern life brings about more needs of entertainment worldwide, so arts and sports are suitable solutions for this high demand. In my opinion, sports play more vital roles in society, so governments should devote more money to them than the arts. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, sports have notable effects on society's health improvements. When people of society realize that the government will financially support athletes, the rate of the individuals who put their efforts on growing their child as a professional sportsman will rise. Therefore, after a while, the new generation will become much healthier than their parents and their grandparents, due to doing more exercise and healthy behaviors which sportsperson do. For example, when my uncle was a child, he always wanted to become a soccer player, but my grandparents never let him. My grandfather always thought if my uncle became a soccer player, he could never afford his expenses because, in those days, the governments did not pay attention to sports but to scientific issues. Consequently, my uncle has serious diseases now by quitting exercising. However, if my grandparents knew that he would have a better future job opportunity in sports, they might allow him to become an athlete, and he would be much healthier than he is now. As a result, the governments by supporting athletes and sports can motivate families to raise their kids as skillful athletes, and that lead the society to become much healthier.

Secondly, the number of people who will enjoy the national sports team's matches are much higher than the people who like to see art galleries. That is, individuals will be more delightful and entertained when they watch television and see how their national team wins the game. For instance, when I was a college student, we had a photo exhibition. Although we tried our best to inspire people to visit our gallery, there were a slight number of them who showed up during it. In contrast, when our national volleyball team won a crucial game against its competitor, numerous people in the streets came to encourage them. I have never seen people this happy in my whole life. In consequence, sports teams can satisfy individuals more than art, so they are a better choice for investing the money of the government.

In conclusion, spending money on the government on athletics is a more suitable choice than devoting it to art. I believe this way because this financial support will provide a better atmosphere in society in which parents will bring up their children as professional athletes, which can increase the societies health in the long-term. Moreover, the majority of people in society prefer to watch sports competitions and enjoy them more than art galleries.