Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching is always one of the most vital matters in society because, without education, no country can reach its goals at all. In my opinion, nowadays, people respect teachers more than what they did in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, today's parents are more concerned about their children's high level of education. In the past, fewer parents thought their kids should go to college or university, but now everything changed from those days. The technology improvements led societies to have more academic degrees meaning to find a variety of job opportunities; you have to go to universities now. As a result, parents do their best to appreciate their kids' teachers to motivate them to teach better and provide more practical information for the children's future. For example, when my uncle was a twenty-year-old boy, his mother did not support him to go to college, and he still has a high school diploma. Although he did not have any upper education degree, he could find a good job. In contrast, I have my bachelor's degree, but I could not find my proper job not only because of the high rate of job demanding and fewer positions, but also more professional competitors who can adapt themselves easier with technologies than me. Consequently, this example can show the urge that parents feel these days for their kids' future, so they do whatever it takes to inspire their children's teachers to prepare them for their future more effectively.

Secondly, the government increases the salary of teachers every year, which means how teachers play a vital role in societies. In all developed countries, there is one fact in common, which is their effective system of education. That is, if a country wants to become successful in its path, it needs to encourage its new generation to become professional teachers in the future. The higher wages for teachers can be a good inspiration for individuals who are worried about the future of themselves as a teacher. Therefore, more people will like to become teachers in the future, and because they are not concerned about financial issues, they can merely concentrate on teaching their students better. The way that governments pay attention to bring up expert teachers implies how valuable teachers are currently, while in the past, teachers had low revenues, which were not enough for their significant expenses.

In conclusion, I believe that teachers are more valued in societies now. This is because the families are more enthusiastic about sending their kids to universities, and the governments devote more budget to raise teachers' incomes every year.