TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Allocating budget for nation’s growth is the first and foremost step a Government can do. I believe by spending money on athletics would develop nations economy while keeping their citizen healthy. Hence, it is more vital to spend more on state-sponsored program when compared to Arts program. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, many people that love to play sports in order to get away from mechanical way of living and studying. For instance, many people at school at one point get bored in their studies and want to look for some alternatives. This is where sports come into play that can compensate an education with sportive skills. My brother's example is a compelling situation of this scenario. Growing up, my brother did not do well in studies however he was performing well in rock climbing. So, my parents enrolled him in a rock climbing classes in our local recreation program. In the beginning, he started off as a recreational activity and quickly his talent was recognized when he was in many intra-mural games. As a result, the coach recommended my brother to compete in a National level sponsored by the provincial funding. With the support from state funding, my brother was able to perform in national wide competition and won first place. Furthermore, he also got into well recognized university under sports scholarship. Without the government funding, my brother's talent would not come into known to everyone around the world as it is quite expensive to participate in national level where my father could not afford to pay.

Secondly, there is a growing concern of people that obese. If more money is allocated for sports than many people would benefit by playing their favourite game which will impact their health positively. For instance, recently my daughter was diagnosed as high diabetic that resulted in sudden weight gain. So, the physician recommended her to do physical exercise every day. But she was not motivated to do exercise. However, she enjoys swimming, so we registered her in swimming class funded by the city. After a while, she got into higher levels in swim class that even motivated her to do well. Because of state funded swimming program, she lost weight gradually and did not develop diabetes. Hence, if government spend money on Sports program, then they don't have to spend money on health problems.

In conclusion, allocating money on sports has many benefits such developing a sports person that can contribute a society and saving money on health care system.