TPO Extra1

People learn things better from those at their own level- such as fellow students or co workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

People have huge influence on other people's behavior and way of thinking. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the most influential people on individuals have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether people learn more from their peers such as their classmates or co-workers, or they learn more from elder people such as their teachers or supervisors. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that people are more inclined to learn from the elder people. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that elder people have more knowledge than young ones; therefore, they have higher influence on younger people. It goes without saying that people in the same age have almost equal knowledge; thus, they cannot affect each other hugely. But elder people are more knowledgeable and are more informed about their surroundings. Young people can rely on them, ask many questions and get their advices. As I remember, whenever I had a problem, I talked to my supervisor who is really a professional academic and non-academic person. He advised me patiently and got the best solution for each problem. On the other hand, when I talked to my classmates, they gave me nonsense solutions that I already knew.

Another reason deserving some words here is that elder people are respectful for younger individuals. Besides, the more respectful the people are, the more influence they have on the other people. Consequently, elder people have more effects on youth than their peers. For example, I always respect elder people like my supervisor and my boss. It causes that their opinions are really invaluable for me and I exert them in my life. Whenever they say something to me, I completely listen and utilize it. Two years ago, I had a study problem. I could not get good grades. One of my friends told me that I have to change my study habits and instead of studying in the noisy rooms, I must study in the library. But, I did not pay attention to his advice. A few days later, my teacher said exactly the same thing that my friend told me. As I really respected him, I followed his advice. Few weeks later, my performance improved surprisingly.

Finally, yet importantly, elder people like teachers and supervisors have more experience that people in the same age. The more time ones live, the more experience he/she will attain. He/she can get invaluable and practical information to people that he/she encounter with them before. For example, my supervisor is a man around 50th. He have really worthy experience. When I go to his office, he talked about his experiences in his life. He has great influence on me as I can evaluate the consequences of many works in my life. He teaches me many lessons about academic and personal life. He show me the right and wrong ways, the negative and positive consequences of my decisions. Had I not have my supervisor who talks about his experiences and guides me in the right way, I would have had many problems.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that elder people have better influence on people than people in the same age since not only do they have more knowledge, but also as they are respectful, people are more likely to follow their advises and they are experience people and give constructional guides.