When you have been friends with someone for a long time, is it important for you to continue the friendship even if that person does something you don't like?

By and large, it is established beyond any doubt that communication plays a prominent role in today’s world. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the best friends and best relationships have always been among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is that whether people keep their relationship even if their friend do something converse to their beliefs or not. It is commonly accepted that people should break their relationship since friends gradually affect each other. While there are those who argue that friends have responsibility to each other and breaking up is not a moral behavior, so their must keep the relationship. I, to a great extent, concure with the former idea. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that friends are close to each other, what they do directly affect on other behavior. It goes without saying that, meny negative and positive behaviors are shared among them until they get quietly similar to each other. Consequently, if one of the persons has behavior that is not proper from the other view point, it is highly recommended that they not pursue their relationship. Perhaps a more specific example can shed more light on the matter. Consider two friends that one of them humiliate the people a lot, if this action is not proper from the others view point, he must break his relation with the partner. Otherwise, he himself involve in this improper behavior.

Another reason deserving some words here is that people recognize the friends as the same. In Persian culture it is an idiom that said:”if you want to know about people, you must know their friends”. This idiom provides further legitimacy and support for the fact that how much friends are close to each other. As a matter of fact, continuing the relationship with people who have improper behaviors, destroy the personality of the other.

Finally, yet importantly, breaking up with individuals who have different behavior us is quite beneficial from a psychological stand point since it can boost self-confidence and self-respect. Without any shadows of doubt, people with various personality and beliefs spend a lot of time to argue about various subjects to convince each other. In consequence, one of them dominate the other and after several times, the partner loss his confidence. As a recently conducted research at University of British Columbia, tracking life events of many friends with different insights, they realize that one of them have a sense of depression, because of the ideas imposed to him.

In conclusion, contemplating all aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realized that breaking up with friends with different perspective is quite beneficial since not only do their behavior affect on the partner, but also they are recognized as the bad persons and loss their self-confidence. It is highly recommended that parents not underestimate the value of making proper friends for their children.