TPO12

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Being informed about academic subjects and having broad knowledge in many fields play a prominent role in people's success. It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the best knowledges for being successful in today's world have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether it is better for people to specialize in one area or they should enhance their knowledge in different realms. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that it is far better for people to have various knowledges. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that people who have broader knowledge feel more self-confidence and self-respect. It goes without saying that knowledgeable people are encouraged by other people and praised which helps them improve their confidence and power. Self-confidence is one of the momentous factors for prosperous. Perhaps a more specific example can shed more light on the matter. When I was in the university, I had a friends named Sam. He was very shy at first, but he was really knowledgeable. He was familiar with different knowledges in various fields, so he could speak appropriately in different meeting. Other people always encourage him; thus, his self-confidence surprisingly improve after few months and he became a sociable person. He could quickly find a decent job after graduation since he felt really confidence and power.

Another reason deserving some words here is that knowledgeable people have more job opportunities rather than people specializing in one area. Without any shadows of doubt, there are many careers in every country that people are more inclined to continue this kind of jobs because of their prestige, salary and many other factors. After a while, these professions are saturated, and they have not any capacity for accepting new employees. In this circumstance, the people are successful who have different knowledge to seek other jobs. As I remember, when I wanted to start university, there were many job opportunity for Electrical Engineers. Thus, I was inclined to continue my study in this field. Fortunately, my parents forced me to study data analysis as a second major alongside my Electrical Engineering. After my graduation, the careers in Electrical field are saturated, but I could find a great job in Instagram Company as a data analyst. Had I not study data analysis, I would not have had any choices for my employment.

Finally, yet importantly, people who have broad knowledge of many subjects have broaden relationships as well. When people join classes in different subjects, they get familiar with various people with different attitudes and considerations. They can improve their social skills since they figure out how to behave with various people in different situation. This abilities helps them in their future job especially in today's world which needs broad communicational skills. For example, when I studied data analysis besides engineering, I knew that concerns and viewpoints of engineers is totally different from data analysts which almost all of them were business people. I learned how to behave with these two groups of people since my social skills had improved during those days.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that having broad knowledge of many academic subjects is far better than specializing in one realm since not only does it improve people's confidence, but also people have more job opportunities and it can improve their social skills.