TPO19.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

During the last decades, the digital revolution has altered several facets of the news industry and its means for delivering news to the general public. In fact, today, people can reach not only the latest local news but also the international one in just a second thanks to the high-speed internet. However, this advancement like other developments has brought controversial issues to societies such as numerous news sources which are unreliable. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether one should get information from different news resources to become well-informed. Although there might be some counterexamples about this claim, deeply deliberating over the issue, I would argue that people should obtain information from as many as different resources they can to become sure. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that, as a rule, if we want to be well-informed about a particular subject we should approach that topic from different angles. Apart from that, the majority of news agencies all around the world talk about an issue in a biased way, and they can intentionally or even unintentionally change the way readers think. As a result, it is strongly recommended to read or hear about an event from different news resources in order to analyze it objectively. Take my own experience as an example which can shed some light on this issue. A few months ago, I read about a demonstration which was held by Brazilian students against the price increase, even worse; the online news agency added about ten people were killed by the policemen at this protest. Fortunately, I asked my Brazilian friend about this event and he rejected these number of dead people at all. Finally, I have discovered that this specific news resource has had a long-lasting problem with the president of Brazil.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that some news resources are more powerful than others. In fact, popular news resources have authority to get even secret information about different topics ranging from international political events to celebrities' personal life. Thus, sometimes, we can get a broader range of knowledge and information from another source of news compared to our local news media. By way of illustration, whenever I cannot get what I am searching for it among our local news resources, I can easily find them in detail through American or European news agencies such as CNN or BBC.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas which were presented above, I believe that we can take advantage of today's plentiful resources of news to judge recent events from different aspects, and obtain them in more detail. However, an important issue that must be mentioned is that we cannot use this opinion as a prescription for everyone and more studies are required to answer this question precisely.