TPO11. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to so much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

During the past decades, societies have experienced significant concerns in different aspects by the advent of the internet. Undoubtedly, the internet has brought considerable benefits to our societies, however; it has its own drawbacks. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether the information extracted from the internet is valuable or it may cause problems. As for me, this vast amount of information can overwhelm people and prevent them from progress. Following reasons will elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that, from a psychological point of view, people cannot arrive at a decision easily when they have many options. To put it in general words, one who is searching for a specific subject through the internet may encounter thousands of pages and websites about that particular topic. As a result, they often think they should dedicate their time to read all those pages to become sure about the information. Obviously, people waste much time analyzing both relevant and irrelevant information to the point of obsession.

The second rationale behind my opinion is rooted in the fact that the majority of the information that individuals can find by the internet is unreliable. Unfortunately, even the most popular websites that we refer to them are not firmly controlled, and everyone from different academic backgrounds can upload information in them. Take my own experience as an example. In my senior year, I was supposed to gather some information about a popular belief between Persian people. Actually, I prepared a paper, even worse I referred to Wikipedia as my reference. Consequently, my professor rejected my paper at all due to its biased and wrong information.

Finally, access to too much information is really confusing not only for ordinary people but also for educated ones. In fact, how someone can choose the best information and trust it? In other words, it can be possible that people face contradicting ideas while they are searching for a topic which all of them have their own supports. So, it would be difficult and pretty challenging to distinguish the best resource of information.

To wrap it up, based on the reasons that were presented above I argue that too much information provided by the internet is not always helpful. In other words, it often makes users confused and overwhelmed. Let hope use more and more people try to read books as the most reliable and enjoyable sources of information.