Do you agree or disagree with following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

During the last decades, human beings can take themselves apart from others in society through education. In fact, education has paved the way for further success. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether one should specialize in one or many different subjects. Although there might be some counterexamples for this claim, I argue that it is far better to be competent in many academic subjects. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that studying a wide range of academic subjects has profound impacts on the future job which someone can land. In other words, one can broaden their horizons in this way. As a result, this person is able to find a practical solution for challenging situations by referring to his wide range of knowledge. It is an undoubted fact that employers prefer to hire someone who is capable of analyzing different aspects of a problem to arrive at the best decision. For instance, my colleague’s major was electrical engineering, and his minor was Italian literature. Although they might seem much different, he handled a significant meeting with our Italian customer using his broad knowledge in both majors.

My second rationale is rooted in the fact that some subjects can complement each other perfectly. Taking this situation into consideration, some subjects can become more effective when they are introduced beside other major or even majors. As a matter of fact, the world is based on some basic concepts that we cannot eliminate them from any subjects, and students who want to be an expert in their field of study should have enough knowledge in these basic fields also. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I always was suffering from a lack of knowledge in chemistry subject as an electrical engineer. It may sound irrelevant, but when I was working on a project about batteries it was necessary for me to know about principal concepts of their chemical characteristics.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas that were presented above, I highly believe that people should not focus on only one academic subject to stand out in this crowded world. However, we cannot use this opinion as a prescription, and more studies are required to answer this question precisely.