Do you agree or disagree with following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

During the last decades, human beings can take themselves apart from others in societies through education. In fact, education has paved the way for further success. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether one should specialize in one or many subjects. Although there might be some counterexamples for this claim, I argue that it is far better to be competent in various academic subjects to expand our range of knowledge and land a decent job subsequently. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that studying a wide range of academic subjects has profound impacts on the future job which someone can land. In other words, it is a way by which one can broaden their horizons and find a practical solution for any challenging situation. It is an undoubted fact that employers prefer to hire someone who is capable of analyzing different aspects of a problem before arriving a decision. For instance, a colleague of mine is graduated from both electrical engineering and Italian literature minor. Although at first glance, they might seem irrelevant, he handled a significant meeting with our Italian customer using his broad knowledge in both majors.

My second rationale is rooted in the fact that some subjects can complement each other perfectly. Actually, some subjects can become more effective when they are introduced beside other major or even majors. As a matter of fact, the world is based on inevitable basic concepts that we cannot eliminate them from any subjects, and students who want to be an expert in their field of study should have enough knowledge in these basic fields as well. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I was always suffering from a lack of knowledge in chemistry subject as an electrical engineer. It may sound irrelevant, but when I was working on a project about batteries it was necessary for me to know about principal concepts of their chemical characteristics.

Last but not least, according to recent studies, people often prefer spending their time on diverse tasks compared to only one thing which might become boring after a while. Not to mention that homogenous subjects can easily demotivate students. Flipping to the other side of the coin, students who are studying different subjects have more options to enjoy. Take my own experience as an example. In my junior year, our syllabus was included various subjects ranging from mathematics to geology and I really had the enthusiasm to join these different classes. Consequently, I studied passionately and ranked the first student among my classmates.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas that were presented above, I highly believe that people should not focus on only one academic subject to stand out in this crowded world and find a job by enhancing their knowledge. However, we cannot use this opinion as a prescription, and more studies are required to answer this question precisely.