TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the last decades, families have experienced significant concerns in protecting their children against perils presented by the advent of computers. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether children should be allowed to play computer games. As for me, I argue that playing computer games is seriously harmful to children, and it is a waste of time. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that computers have brought a different lifestyle to societies. To put it in general words, children who are accustomed to playing computer games for a long time are not involved in kinesthetic activities sufficiently. Consequently, these children will suffer from physical as well as mental problems such as obesity sooner or later. Indeed, they are occupying their spare time with harmful tasks that we consider them as a waste of time. Flipping to the other side of the coin, children who are prevented from playing computer games spend more time on outdoor activities including running, playing and biking. As a result, they can enjoy a healthy lifestyle throughout their existence.

My second rationale is rooted in the fact that children can spend their free time on more valuable activities to boost their range of knowledge. On the other words, young children, adolescents, and teenagers who are students can dedicate a vast amount of their time and energy to do social activities with their peers such as joining school clubs or participating in matches. Undoubtedly, such things will improve their social skills and competence that are essential for their future. Take my example which can shed some light on this issue. One of my students who often played computer games was used to fail her exams. As her parents prevented her from playing to excess, she has shown more tendency to concentrate on her lessons and has become the first ranked student after many times of failure.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas that were presented above, parents should seriously prevent their children from spending their time playing computer games. Obviously, it is a waste of time because of its severe effect on children’s' progression and health. Let us hope that more and more parents try to monitor their children against this modern monster.