TPO15.In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the last decades, the digital revolution has brought economic prosperity to the societies. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that more facilities are available in a community, more money people should spend to meet their needs. As a result, the ability to manage money is crucial for individuals’ survival and success. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether should learn to manage their own money at young ages. Although there might be some counterexamples, I would argue that it is essential for children to learn to manage their own money to become financially responsible adults. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that everyone can learn a skill during the time and it is not an overnight achievement. In fact, time and experience are the best teachers to form a person's personality. Parents should give different opportunities to their young children to evaluate their abilities and broaden their range of knowledge. By way of conclusion, children who are practicing to manage their own money would be financially responsible adults in the future. Consider the following example which can shed some light on this issue. A friend of mine was given a monthly allowance, and she was supposed to manage that for a specific time. After some years, we started studying electrical engineering together in another city. Unfortunately, I always had difficulties to pass a month with the money that I had, however; she was able to cover her living expenses with the same amount of money. The reason was that she has learned how to handle her budget.

Furthermore, children particularly those from affluent families often cannot understand how hard making a living is. They are financially dependent on their parents while life is not like that all the time. In other words, children should be learned to save their money for a rainy day. For instance, a few years ago I used to get money from my father, and there was no limitation for me. As I became independent, I was struggling with financial problems all the time since I was not able to set my priorities, and spent the vast amount of money on unnecessary stuff. It took a long time for me to be accustomed to this new situation.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas were presented above I believe that it is vital for young children to manage their money on their own to become accustomed and experienced for their future life. However, an important issue that must be mentioned is that we cannot use this idea as a prescription, and more research should be conducted to answer this question precisely.