TPO24 – Independent: A/D? One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

During the last decades, the digital revolution has altered every facet of our personal lives. In fact, we are living in the era in which technologies are progressing at a fast pace, and parents are responsible for teaching their children how to set themselves apart from the crowd. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether parents can prepare their teenagers for their future life by promoting them to take a part-time job. However, there might be some counterexamples about this claim I would argue that working is the best way for teenagers to acquire experience and skills for their adult life. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The first prominent point to be mentioned is that this topic is bound to question the importance of interpersonal skills in a person's success. It is an undeniable fact that no one can convey his ideas even the most creative ones without communication in our communication-based world. Considering this fact, parents should encourage their children to socialize with other people so that they will improve their social skills. Besides, communication with people both in a formal way and in the workplace would be a different experience for teenagers. In this regard, parents can give their children a once-in-a-lifetime chance to mingle with their boss, manager, customers, and coworkers at very young ages. Undoubtedly, these teenagers would become ready for their future job and can contribute to their company as an adaptable team member.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that experience is the best teacher for everyone ranging from a young child to an adult person. Neither parents' advice nor academic lessons can be useful for people to handle real-life issues. In other words, teenagers must be encouraged to experience different things in order to broaden their horizons during the time. Thus, parents can ask their teenagers to take a part-time job to face the challenges presented by financial issues like how to manage their savings or how to make a living. Consequently, they would learn how to address this issues independently which is vital for their future career since many employers put a premium on a person's problem-solving ability.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas which were presented above I believe that encouraging teenagers to take a part-time job is a way by which parents can prepare them for adult life. Finally, their children will expand their horizons and become experienced enough for their future job.