TPO17_Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

During the last decades, the advertising industry has experienced significant changes thanks to the brand-new visual and acoustic technologies. In fact, the digital revolution paved the way for further progress in advertising. On the other hand, modern means of advertising have brought critical concerns with itself. One of the heated debates in this realm is that whether the majority of advertisements want to demonstrate products much better what they are. Although there might be some counterexamples about this claim, I would argue that most advertisements are deceiving the people. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that this issue is bound to question the core aim of the advertisement industry. Admittedly, companies and producers' first purpose is to sell more amounts of their commodities, so quantity frequently is more important compared to the quality for sellers. In this regard, they tend to employ different methods and stimuli in their advertisements to promote people buying more products. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. A few years ago, I was working for an institution as an academic advisor as well as an advertiser. What's worse, my boss always made me introduce my students some sub-standard books and encourage them to buy those books during the TV show about this institution. However, I was sure those unqualified books were unnecessary for students, I had to ignore quality, and increase the number of books which were bought by the students.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that advertisements often exaggerate the product's attributes. Not to mention we are talking about an industry in which there are many experts who are analyzing their customers and their needs considering factors such as age, career, and location to utilize the best way for evoking them. In other words, they know how to deceive an individual by examining their personality. For example, most ads use fantasy or animation characters for young customers including children since they are not mature enough to distinguish between reality and imagination. Besides, they frequently use misleading sentences to cover their exaggeration given that they know that most people are not aware enough to understand their tricks.

To wrap it up, based on the reasons were presented above I argue that advertisements are mainly exaggerating their products to attract more customers which are exposed to their ads. Let us hope that more and more people particularly parents rely less on advertisements before making a decision about a product. In conclusion, there are other reliable ways such as asking our relatives about their experience with a product to become sure about what we want to buy.