TPO22-teachers should not make their political and social point of views known to students

Throughout history, teachers have been known as second parents of children. In fact, students spend a lot of time with their teachers at school, and they are certainly affected by them. Children often try to follow their teachers' steps, and sometimes they take their teachers as a good example for their future life. One of the heated debates on this realm is that whether teachers should indicate either their social or their political view to students. However, there might be some counterexamples about this claim I would argue that teachers should act, talk, and behave objectively without any particular view. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The first prominent point to be mentioned is that teachers as role models have a profound impact on several aspects of students' lifestyle. Consequently, if they express their ideas about a specific social or political issue, intentionally or unintentionally, they would alter their students' mind since children are not mature enough to form their own opinions about abstract concepts. Obviously, neither parents nor teachers must inject their own ideas into children's brain even if they think children are not capable of making good decisions about social and political issues. Besides, teachers might give rise to the conflicts between parents and their children by expressing their own points of view about both social and political issues.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that teachers must draw the line between their professional life and their personal life. In general words Teachers’ personal life, ideas, and views must be considered a red line which should not be crossed by the students. Rarely do children obey their teachers when they know many things about them. Consider my own experience as an example which can shed some light on this issue. A few years ago, I was supposed to teach adolescent students for the first time. Since it was my first experience of teaching, I talked about the sexual harassment and its following consequences with my students. Unfortunately, they were not ready to get that information, they became rude, and this conversation destroyed our relationship. Draw on my experience, I have learned that I should not make my views about different issues known for all students to attract respect.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas which were presented above, I highly believe that teachers should avoid sharing their social or political views with their students. Therefore, they would give their students a chance to shape their own opinions without being influenced by other people.