TPO21 – Independent: A/D? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Some people believe that for success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Therefore, they just focus on expanding their relationship and forget that knowledge is the key to open many doors even it is the door to a close, mutually supportive relationship with others. So I strongly disagree with that opinion that only concentrates on relating well to people but instead I think studying hard in school is a fundamental factor and good networking is just a subordinate factor.

The main reason is that knowledge is the foundation to access to any future jobs. Without it, you can unable to perform your desirable job no matter how a good relationship with others you have. For example, I am working as a Business Consultant now and this job requires me a lot of business knowledge related to Marketing, Finance, Market Research and so on. And at the beginning, to obtain this job, I have to prove myself that I have the understanding of all those fields based on my good performance on all the subjects relevant to those areas. And after that, to maintain this job, I really utilize all of the things I have learned in school to apply them to real business situations. I believe that if I only have the ability to relate well to people, it is impossible for me to understand the implication of market movement, the strategies that the companies use and many different things.

In addition, I also claim that knowledge is the key to relate well to others. Because when we talk with others and build a relationship with them, you have to show that you are a useful person who can add some value to others making friend with you. For example, my current manager who is very good at building up the close connection with clients, he taught me that if you want the others to respect you, appreciate you and exchange value with you, you have to provide your own unique value first, to make them feel that you are deserved to make friend with. Based on it, you will have a win-win relationship and it will endurable for long afterward. So studying hard to enhance your value should be the first step that needs to focus on and then develop the ability to relate well to people.

In sum, I believe than the ability to relate well to people will not be as important for success in the future job as studying hard in school to get knowledge and skills. Because hard studying is not only helping us to get the knowledge, expertise which is really necessary for carrying out the job but also it will build the bridge to connect with other people to get a win-win result. So in my opinion, studying hard will be my priority when I perform in school.