TPO21 Independent A D For success in a future job the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school

From my own perspective, I am afraid I have to disagree with the statement that the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school since I think they are on the same importance level. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

First of all, academic skills are the foundation of collaboration. As we all know, the independent thinking is of vital importance for every individual who have the passion to make a massive contribution to his team. Where does the independent thinking come from? Your academic understandings. My experience is a compelling example of this argument. I used to participate in modeling contests during my college years, which requested me to sign up in a team. And I could still remember my debut. I just entered into my field with nearly bare hands: I didn't have any basic skills for this contest or even the programming skills that could boost efficiency when solving mathematics questions. As a result, my teammates were exhausted. Not only did they finish overdue jobs due to me, but they also had to direct me with huge patience. Although we finally submitted a successful paper, I still could not feel a sense of achievement since I felt like a idiot who didn't contribute anything to this teamwork. Therefore, I disagree with the statement interpersonal skills outweigh academic skills.

Secondly, studying hard and interacting with others are not paradoxical, we can do both of them simultaneously by learning in a group. For instance, I would like to continue to relate my last story. My teammates did not exclude me after my terrible debut performance. And I felt so guilty that I listened to one of my teammates to concentrate on improving my programmer technique. The most important part was that we still registered for a bunch of contests since then. It was not just a motivation for all of us to focus on our own bussiness, but it offered us a opportunity to practice how to conquer a project within a group, as we should do in the future career. Surprisingly, I realized that I had made a magnificant progress on both sides. So I think they are both essential for our future career development.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that studying hard in university is as important as communicating skills. This is because the basis of collaboration is the problem-solving ability, and because the university can actually provide the environment for us to do both of them.