After completing high school students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university

Nowadays, most students would like to attend college before making a living in modern society. And some people argue that students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they go to college. Personally, I do not wholeheartedly agree with this opinion, and I believe it depends on their future studying field.

For students majoring in engineering, I think there is no requirement to waste a year off from university. My experience is an excellent demonstration of my stance. I majored in computer science during my college years. And my passion was to be a software developer, which required me to excel in many kinds of programming languages like Java and Python. And from my perspective, it could not be better for me to master such programming knowledge via schooling since there were so many brilliant classmates working with me. We shared the same goal so that we would support each other without spare. Besides, thanks to the great Internet, I could collect data or information via telecommunications when I was puzzled by some difficulties. Therefore, I think engineering students could practice their professional skills and make academic progress without face-to-face communications. And one year off is merely wasting precious time.

For students majoring in the humanities or art, I think they should take a vacation to pursue connections with others. Since the essence of these sorts of subjects is human-bing itself, literary students could not vividly depict a detailed story and characterize classic roles without personal observations. No matter how talented they are, it is still insurmountable for art students to imagine and have inspiration without a concrete basis. Furthermore, human is a complicated kind of creature who creates society as complex as human nature itself. The complex essence contributes to varieties of concentrations within every social science, which requests the young to spend time to find their own passions or destinations. So it is perfect for them to do some research concerning of their desires before actually participating in such a study.

In conclusion, I do not fully support the statement that all students should take a one-year vacation before university studying. It is their field of study that decides the answer to this question.