It is important to improve our skills and knowledge as much as possible. Some people prefer to learn from individuals who have more experience than they do – like teachers and supervisors – instead of learning from peers, like their colleagues and classmates. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

Nowadays, with the tremendous development of human culture, the acquirement of knowledge is more important than ever. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the statement that we should learn from experienced people like professors and parents rather than from peers. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

First of all, the sophisticated people know the answers of many questions. I undoubtedly believe that everyone is unique, however, the situations are repetitive. Besides, the peers might been faced with the very same dilema as we are, and they have no idea how to break it, too. For instance, I used to participate in mathematics modeling contests during college with other three teammates, who were abosolutely brilliant young men. One time we were facing a difficulty involing totally strange field from our own. It baffled us for entirely two days so that we finally decided to find one of our teachers for help. He slightly smiled right after he saw that problem, and sent us some papers he had published including similar mathematical models. Without his effortless assistance, it was literally impossible for us to solve the puzzle by ourselves.

Secondly, the speed of society improvement is not so fast that the gap between two generations is insurmountable. I would like to start with my own experience. After graduation from university I had an opportunity for either entering a giant company in my field or continuing my graduate program in a university. At first, I did not believe my conservative parents would provide meaningful suggestions. Since they had a tendency to steady lifestyle I supposed their suggestion as choosing the giant company, which could offer a promising career. Nevertheless, when I talked with them about the academic promotion, both of them express their respect to high-ranked education. And their perspectives were mostly similar with mine, which was wholly beyond my normal opinions.

In conclusion, I firmly support the idea that we should pay more attention to experienced people instead of peers. This is because these wiseful people are more likely to know the solutions to many problems, and because they share the same beliefs with us.