TPO23 – Independent: A/D? In today's world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

In a world with everything rushing at high speed, those who tend to work slowly to make sure that no mistakes are made seem to be considered uncompetitive and thus be phased out. We are asked to move faster, to work faster and to rest lesser. However, I do not agree that working quickly and risking making mistakes is much more important than working slowly to make sure that everything is correct for three reasons.

First of all, to finish your work correctly is surely a way to prove your profession. If you get all the things done within a short period of time yet make a lot of mistakes on your task, I believe that your employer would not be pleased with the result. You can still impress your employer or your clients by making sure that everything is correct as long as you finish your work on time.

Second, it is no need to say if you make a mistake, you need to spend a lot of time to revise and correct it. As the saying goes, “Haste makes waste,” although you seem to save your time by working quickly; nonetheless, once you have something wrong, you are doomed to pour much more effort to fix it. Therefore, taking your time and completing your work step by step is in fact most time-saving.

Last but not least, since a slight mistake may result in an irreversible and irreparable outcome, it is of significance to double-check to make sure that no error is made. An inconspicuous typo may bring up a butterfly effect and lead to a result that you are unable to bear. Therefore, as the proverb says, “Slow makes smooth and smooth makes fast,” even if perfectly making all things done seems to take a great deal of time, it still worth to be put into practice.

To sum up, I believe that slow and steady wins the race. As long as you finish the work in time, it is unnecessary for you to hurry to work fast and risk making mistake. Working slowly and making sure that everything is correct will definitely benefit you more.