TPO23(independent)Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

It is a highly debated issue whether or not one should work quickly and make risky decisions and this topic can be approached from several angles due to its importance. While some people tend to think that all the tasks should be done at the maximum possible pace, regardless of considering any mistake that might happened, others believe that it is wiser to do any work more slowly but correctly. Deeply deliberating over the issue, I believe that it is better to focus on the result of tasks and try our best to make them definite, the pace and how much time we spend are not as significant as the result would be. Following discussion reveals my stand and justification.

To commence, my first subtle point which requires to be mentioned is that, although analyzing all the probable situations that might happened during a task would take time, the efficiency and accuracy of the task are more crucial. If people tried best to identify possible choices and consequences of an action before taking action, not only it helps them to feel more relax during the active part of the task, but also it assists them not to confront unexpected problems. For example, when a person wants to establish a new job while he does not spent the adequate amount of time evaluating the marketplace and other related matters, the possibility of losing money and being bankrupt is very much.

Another substantial explanation that can be taken into consideration is that for most of sensitive works quality is of high importance, but the duration is not very crucial unless in special cases of emergency. I had an awful experience in this regard; as a structural engineer, I was responsible to prepare the related calculation and drawings of a huge turbo compressor foundation and my manager was very strict about those documents because of their high importance for our employee. For the sake of the applied pressure from my boss, although, I have modeled the 3D model exactly, unfortunately I forgot to check the coordination and elevation for the top of the foundation. Consequently, the workers excavated a wrong place in the site and it had irreversible result at that situation.

To recapitulate briefly, based on the aforementioned elucidations, I am in conviction that it is better to work slowly and be sure that everything is correct. This is not to say, of course, that other perspectives are completely without merit. However, I think the reasons I provided in favour of my opinion are stronger.