TPO3 - Independent writing - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are the most valuable things that we can have in our lives. Some people prefer to make new friends, while the others prefer to have keep the old ones. To the extent that my personal point of view is concerned, I am of the conviction that we have to keep our old friends because not only can they understand us better, but they also help us more.

First, generally old friends know you better. People know nothing about each other but just physical characteristics, when they first form friendships. After a while and when their friendships grow, they will learn about each other’s behavioral characteristics. In long-term friendships, friends knows what makes their friends happy in a sad situations or what do they like. Close friends have a lot of things in common. As an example, they have same hobbies which they do in together; furthermore, they can talk to each other for hours without getting bored. They do anything to cemented their friendship. Somehow they become each other’s family.

Additionally, friends are the only ones that help you other than your family. You may encounter a problem in your life which your family cannot help you with or they don not understand. Your friends are the only ones that you can trust, share your secrets. You can talk about your problems with no worries of using them against you. When they are informed that you have a problem, they help you find a solution for it and they don not leave you in your hardships. Moreover, life-long friends know how they can help you. Sometimes all you need is someone that understands you and listen to you. This is the least thing that close friends can do it for you.

To sum up, we should keep our old friends and appreciate them for the way they understand us and having our backs through difficulties. Friendship is one the most valuable relationships that any social creature needs it.