TPO 9 - Independent writing - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology is transferring our daily lives and businesses. We have become very skilled at harnessing technology in all sorts of creative ways. However, there is a debate on the effect of technology on children’s creativity. To the extent that my personal point of view is concerned, I am of the conviction that children have become less creative than the past.

First, children who play electronic games a lot, have no time for thinking. After a while, they become addicted to electronic games and put all of their time on them. Even they play with their tablets in bed before sleeping. As a result, they will have no time for thinking. Thinking is the origin of creativity, so children who use electronic games a lot, have difficulties in concentration and are less creative.

Additionally, in the past children used to play with each other. There was not enough equipments for their entertainment. Hence, they had to be creative and develop their own games. They played with the simplest things, but they played the most amazing games. Besides, sometimes they draw painting with each other. It is proved by the scientists that drawing is one the best ways of increasing creativity.

Finally, technology has helped us in many aspects of our lives. It makes everything easier, but is it not necessary a good thing for children. In the past, children used to deal with some problem that they do not exists today. Take my mother as an example, she had to help his father in feeding the cattle and in farm when she was about seven. She tells that she had created some wooden equipments that helps her in feeding their cattle. It is obvious that for dealing with problems made children more creative.

To sum up, technology has made children less creative because it takes their time for thinking, opportunities to play creative games with their friends and the chance of dealing with problems on their own. There is no doubt that parents must limit their children’s access to technology and follow up their mind growth.