TPO3-independentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

In my opinion, friendship is one of the most important things in our lives since we all have a moment needing someone who understand us to share our joy and sorrow, otherwise life will be way too tedious. Personally, I could not agree more with the statement that it is more important to keep your old friend than it is to make new friends. My view is based on my personal experience.

I have known this friend since my first year after graduation. She was one of my seniors' girlfriends at that time. If my memory serves me right, I was requested to give her a ride to the Christmas party of our academy. For that reason I had that girl's phone number, since then we occasionally chatted on the phone for the purpose of sharing my worries due to the fact that all my friends at that time were male except her. So for some topics regarding relationships with other females she was the only one I could consult to. As time gone by, our friendship became stronger, we trusted each other without any thoughts other than being real friends. Gradually, she had her own problems as well, I then became her mentor for some life issues conversely. Even though we met rarely, but it seemed that we completely understood each other, I think that is what we called "soul mates". During my training period abroad, we still contacted each other through MSN, by reason of the toughness of my training, she gave me so much mental support, I felt I was not alone at least there was someone who truly cared about me and asking no returns. We trusted each other very much so we also shared many embarrassing stories and bad deeds of ours. Till now, we can understand each other's feeling with a glimpse of the face or hearing the tone from the throat via telephone. I believe we can continuously be supportive to each other and make our lives more meaningful. That is why I assert that having a solid relationship with an old friend is better than making new friends.

To have new friends in life can bring us many surprises and opportunities in order to exploring the big world we live in. Some people love to make new friends all the time because new friends means more sources of income in some ways. But when it compares with the relationship with old friends, the latter is more profound, more spiritual, and more meaningful to me.

To sum up, both keeping our old friends and making new friends are beneficial to our lives, but the old friendship is just like a barrel of whisky, the longer it reserve the better taste it will be.