TPO3- It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Agree or not?

At every turn of each individual life, no one can turn a blind eye to the significant effects of friends on people’s lives. Some people are of the opinion that making new friends is more important and is better for people. On the other extreme of the rope, others believe that keeping old friends and strengthening the relationship with them has numerous advantages. Although both sides take their own positions, personally speaking, I firmly believe that the first group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will cogently explain my reasons to justify my points of view.

As the first and paramount reason, having an outgoing personality and developing a relationship with new friends exposures people to innovative ideas and helps them learn various functional and helpful skills. In other words, new friends having valuable experiences and rational approaches can develop people’s knowledge, expand their horizons and help them effectively achieve their goals. Take my own experience as a compelling example. When I was working as an industrial engineer at a company, I decided to make friends with foreign engineers to learn their skills and abilities. They taught me various economy concepts, how to find viable solutions, and deal properly and efficiently with problems and unprecedented challenges in quality control. After six months, I could solve and modify production scheduling bringing about to deliver all products on the due date and attract many customers. Subsequently, I gained a lot of profit. Therefore, if I hadn't made new friends and gained valuable experiences, nor could I improve the production level neither could I earn a lot of money.

The second reason coming to my mind to substantiate my viewpoint is that, meeting new friends relieve people’s stress and worries and increases their self-confidence. To be more specific, people’s characteristics and talents have been commonplace for their old friends; thus, communicating with new friends seeing them with fresh eyes and open hearts recalls them their talents, strengths, and abilities which encourages people to come out their shell, speak about their anxieties, problems and try to solve them. For instance, empirical research conducted by some master psychology students shows that people trying to make a relationship with new persons are always happy and have positive energy. Actually, establishing relationships with new friends helps people to join sports teams and attend social groups which gives them an outlet to process difficult emotions and encourages them to get out of their routine, find their hidden talent, be socially active, and create new adventures keeping people away from stressful situations. Lack of social activity obviously takes opportunities away from them by bringing them into mental conflict. Hence, the more people make new friends, the more self-confidence they will obtain and the less serious mental problems such as isolation and introspection they will encounter.

In conclusion, taking the above reasons into account, I strongly believe that, making new friends not only opens up a whole gamut of new valuable experiences and splendid ideas for people but it also helps them alleviate their recurrent anxiety and depression, be happy and energetic.