TPO41 IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that today people were highly regarded teachers because of their important role in the success of the society. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that teachers were more appreciated in the past because they had the role of instructive for people at those times, but today that view was disappeared from peoples' mind. However, I, to great extent, disagree with this idea that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were today.

First and foremost, people in the past was not aware of the importance of education in their daily life. Most of the jobs did not need an academic background to do. For example, the usual occupations were done by hand working and hard physical activities, not by machines. In the absence of technology, most parents prevented their children even from basic education, in order to keep them for helping in farming or other relevant works.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that in the past sophisticated people did not enroll in teaching careers. Teachers' salary was among the lowest ones, and they had not high social status. The reason is the fact that most wealthy and well-known families prepared their children for jobs such as administrative and merchant. In fact, they hired teachers just as a low-level employee for the education of their children. Nonetheless, today most of the talented young people choose teaching as a career after hard study and having brilliant grades in school.

Finally, yet importantly, it is true that in the past teachers had the role of adviser for people. However, they were only regarded as an adviser for few close people which already were aware of the value of education and knowledge for human life. Indeed, others mainly accepted and recognized churches as a centre for getting a consultation.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I was convinced that teachers today were more appreciated by society than they were in the past.