Tpo51- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that due to the rise of technology, social media, movies, and television programs play crucial rules in every society. In this regard, children may be more affected than adults. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether it is beneficial for children to spend most of their time on watching television programs or movies or this kind of hubby may have harmful effects on children. As for this writer’s opinion, I will subscribe to the latter idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason is that children are not enough mature to distinguish good programs from bad ones. It is crystal clear that a little age child who watches movies or cartoons always tries to imitate the movie’s characteristics and behaves like them. There are some aggressive characters who may affect the child’s behavior. As a case in point, my little brother used to watch Superman and Joker cartoon. He loved Joker and always behave like him with loud sound and immorality. Had my mother restricted him from watching this kind of cartoon he would have behaved normally. After all, we took him to a psychologist to talk to him and guide him to behave normally. This example clears that watching movies often has harmful effects on children because they can not recognize good behaviors from bad ones.

Furthermore, watching television or movies brings physical and mental disadvantageous to children. It goes without saying that TVs emits signals which are so harmful to everyone, especially children. Not only do signals affect our brains but also diminish our sights. By way of illustration, again my brother, after a while, he felt a lot of pains in his eyes; because he has been watching movies and cartoon for 3 hours a day. Ultimately, the doctor said that his sight became weak and he had to use eyeglass. This example clearly illustrates how harmful TV programs and movies can be for children.

To put it briefly, as I mentioned above, one can infer that watching movies or TV programs often has unavoidable effects on children. There is a couple of points which are worth to restating: firstly, children try to imitate everything they watch in movies or TV programs due to their little ages; secondly, their bodies may be attacked by watching movies. As for this writer’s advice, I highly urge individuals to familiarize their children with reading books or playing games with other children instead of watching TV programs.