TPO53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In recent years, there has been a great debate on which public service the government money should be channeled to. Although many young people propose that the money should be spent on upgrading technology such as the Internet, I strongly believe public transportation is a greater feature to take care of.

There are several reasons why investing money on upgrading public transportation is more urgent, especially in today's modern society. Having good-quality public vehicles, such as buses and subways, will significantly reduce the problems caused by traffic jam and congestion. It is safe to say that the current public transportation is not modern and convenient enough to appeal more users. If such transport system was available, the number of individual vehicles on the road would immensely decrease, which reduces the amount of traffic especially during peak hours. As a result, not only does this investment have a great impact on citizen's health as it protects them from toxic emissions in a congested road, it also contributes to the elimination of air pollution that is always a big issue in urban areas.

On the other hand, improvement on Internet connection does not necessarily improve the life of every citizen. It can be said that Internet connection is in great care of private communications companies with little financial support from governments. For example, there have been several times when the Internet cable network was damaged and these companies are always the only ones to assign engineers to the field and fix the issue. Thanks to them, all residents are able to go online with a decent speed based on the Internet packet they pay for. Therefore, even if governments want to locate revenue to improve Internet service, there would be no room for that and the money would only become a waste that should rather be spent on other critical matters.

In conclusion, the importance and urgency of any public service should be considered when it comes to deciding which one is calling for attention and investment from the governments. With all the issues related to the transport system, public transportation would be of a greater concern than Internet access and should be receiving more care from the governments.