TPO55 Independent

Expanding the skill of team working collaboration in the students has always been a fundamental aim of teaching for educators. To make this goal practically learned, teachers and professors design some group assignment projects for students which can be done either with communication in person or online. Some people believe that a better result can be achieved when classmates get in touch in person rather than by e-mails. I absolutely agree with this statement for various reasons, two of which I'm going to elaborate upon to substantiate my viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, let's talk about how easier it is to share new conceptions and suggestions in person rather than via email. While one of the cardinal principles to complete a project is to contemplate the ideas, analyze each one in the group, choose the best practical ones and finally make a conclusion of them, it is easier to debate about some rejected ones by giving details and more information when everyone gathered in an office. Sometimes by talking online, our accent in conjunction with our real meaning can not be understood via emails. For example, me and two of my friends in the first year of university were supposed to give an assignment about the environmental effect on body fats considering that our major was exercise physiology. One of my friends suggested using a method which based on my vast research was not really helpful. Because of the Pandemic, we were far away and our group on Whatsapp app was the way of communication. when I rejected her idea, she immediately became angry and sad, showed her feeling by leaving the group, and didn't even give me a chance to support my rejection by scientific reasons. She believed that I have personal problems with her and that was the reason we got into a chaotic situation by the end of the project. Accordingly, this way of communication makes some people misunderstand how we talk and it is hard to handle this kind of problem.

What is more, I would say that communicating by email is time taking if not every person in the group feel the same level of responsibility. One of the ways that a project can be done is the cooperation of everyone to provide data around the title and summarize them as fast as possible to start the practical part. When a member doesn't care and stops answering emails quickly, other members lose their access to that person but considering the class, they are compelled to make that person contribute to the project and it's not possible to leave her alone. For instance, in my own experience, One of the members of our assignment group stopped answering us neither by email nor on phone calls and we had limited time to make the results ready. We completed the process ignoring her presence, but the professor gave a negative point to other members of the group due to the absence of that person. Based on these details, I believe being there in person is a better force for everyone to do their duties as a member and get the results earlier.

All in all, if we concentrate all of these factors together, we can easily conclude that meeting in person can help us by providing better work, neither late nor poor in its concepts by communicating in person. As it is possible to take part in person for a project, why we should decide to suffer from the far communicating problems?