In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

There are many things and objects in our life that could not be given up once they become a part of our lives. Our history is rife with such examples and one inevitable example would be a ‘car’. A car is universally personified as a symbol of freedom and development. It came in our live and changed our whole perspective towards the world .It is not a mere commodity used to travel across cities but a tool that led to our current economic and financial stability. I disagree with this argument and believe that there would be much more cars on the roads twenty years from now. To abet my stand I would like to discuss some specific reasons and examples in the following paragraphs.

Firstly technology is still developing by leaps and bounds and these developments are directly or indirectly affecting our cars. Generally a complete overhaul and implementation of any new design takes at least a decade and with newer technologies such as self-driving cars still under development we are still to see a revolution in cars. These cars would be much safer, efficient and cheaper than our present cars. For instance, these autonomous cars would be able to transport us to our destination autonomously without any human intervention at just the click of a button. On contrary due to human intervention our current cars are prone to accidents and it is known that car accidents are a major factor in total number of deaths worldwide. Thus these technological advancements would make driving much safer.

Secondly we are currently facing some serious environmental issues such as Global warming because of our reckless burning of fossil fuels which is a nonrenewable resource. With the advent of new technologies for energy production such as solar power, Fuel cells and hybrid which are capable of sustainable development, cars are still to adapt to these newer technologies which would enable to us to counteract current environmental crisis with compromising our needs. Additionally, electric cars are proving to be much more efficient and powerful than our conventional gasoline cars. For instance companies such as Tesla is a pioneer in making electric cars which are not only more powerful and requires no gasoline to run .Keeping in view these technologies there would be much more cars in twenty years from now because newer developments are still being made .

In the light of the aforementioned reasons it seems axiomatic that there would be much more cars in twenty years from now. The whole credit goes to the recent developments in technology and science.