"In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.” Do you agree or disagree?

Automobile plays an important role in our society. Nowadays, we travel to most of the places by own vehicle. Although some people would say that there will be lesser vehicles in next twenty years, however I disagree with the referred statement. It is firm my belief that numbers of cars will be increased by many fold in future for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, developing nations are rapidly urbanizing which means that more people will require to travel to their workplaces. In the past, people were dependent on agriculture labor near their home. In contrast, today most of the population in main cities stay in apartment buildings far from their offices. Consequently, they need to cover longer distance every day. Here, I have to admit that my opinion has been profoundly influenced by own person experience. For example, my father works on farms in downtown. Normally, he walks on his foot to his workplace. On the hand, I am moved to the capital to work in a manufacturing plant and drive almost 35 km from my apartment to the factory every day. As a result, I have to have a vehicle to visit the office on weekdays. For this reason, cars are almost necessity in developing nations. Moreover, I cannot see any indication that this trend will halt in future.

Secondly, family incomes especially for youngsters are rising all over the world, which means that in the future automobiles will be more affordable. In the past, people were not used to attract high salaries so they could not spend automobile which were considered as privileged. On contrary, consumers in developing countries like India and China purchase millions of cars every day. Indeed, vehicles are become a symbol of affluence. Drawing from my own experience, I normally used to see the cars in the parking lot of my office. Last year, when I received a salary increment, I also bought a new vehicle. It’s certainly clear to see why buying capacity of individual positively influence the decision of buying new vehicle.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in the near future, there will be more vehicle on the road than there are today on account of rapid world urbanization as well as rising incomes which will open up new market for automobile companies.