In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than they are today

In today’s world, transportation by whichever mode remains a pertinent part of human life. We wake every day to commute to different places to begin our daily activities with the mindset to return through commuting in cars, rail or plane. I believe that our use of vehicles can never diminish with time. in fact, our usage of cars will continue to grow as technology advances. I feel this way for the two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the use of cars as a means of transporting goods to the market has engendered the need to continue to have better cars to commute farm produce for buying and selling. Over the years, cars are continually employed to move farm produce after harvest to the points where they could be exchanged for money. My personal experience portrays a specific example of this. Fifteen years ago, in a remote in south-west Nigeria, where my father had a cocoa farm. After harvest, my siblings and I carried basket of cocoa to the market square to sell to intending buyers. we continued with this practice until my father purchased his first Volvo 504, which we now used to convey our newly harvested cocoa to sell. With the introduction of the car to our business, we never experienced any damage to our food crop and as well made more profit by transporting more of the cocoa to the market.

Secondly, the availability of cars has made remote communities reachable by health workers which have decreased infant mortality rates across Africa and other remote villages across the world. For instance, in Nigeria, infant mortality used to be on the high side and this most specific to the northern states in the countries. This was so rampant due to the absence of cars and good roads to reach extremely remote communities in the northern part of the country. However, with the introduction of good cars and the renovation of roads across the country, health workers could have access to these communities to deliver good health services to rural dwellers.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that there would be a decrease in the use of cars for years to come. This is because of the far-reaching effects of the use of cars to transport goods for farmers and also to reach rural communities for effective health care delivery.