Univeristy should use taxes to fully fund universities so that students can study for free.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether the government should support students to attend universities. Some agree that government should utilize taxes to support universities so that students can study for free. Others argue that students should pay tuition on their own even though the tuition may be high. It is my firm belief that government should not use taxes for students' university tuition and I will develop these ideas in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the taxes collected from citizens should be used for more practical purposes such as infrastructure. The important reason is that this money should benefit all citizens instead of a small group of people who attend universities. For example, the government of my country constructed a high-speed railway in recent years. This construction boosted the economic and commerce opportunities around the nation and provided tons of job opportunities. Moreover, the railway significantly decreases commuting times for people so that they can save time for themselves to stay with their families. It is certainly clear that government spending money on infrastructure is better as it can provide welfare for the whole nation.

Secondly, if the tuition is free, some students will take education for granted. This results that students do not cherish the opportunities of attending universities. My personal experience is a great example of this. In my hometown, Taiwan, the cost to attend university is quite cheap. As a result, many of my classmates in university did not care about the education resources. They tended to skip lectures easily. Not to mention if the tuition is free, the situation may become worse. For this reason, I strongly think that students should pay tuition for themselves.

Although some people argue that young people can not afford the cost without the government’s support as the tuition to attend university is expensive, in many nations, there are many student loans from the government, charity funds, and many non-government organizations. For students who want to attend universities, it is not difficult to find these resources so that they have the opportunities for educations.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that government should not use taxes to support students’ tuition for universities.