University should require every graduation students to take public speaking courses. Give examples and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, universities attach greater importance to adapt measures to provide students with better education. Some people are of the point that it is required for every student in universities to take public speaking course with the aim of providing them with more successful future career. In my opinion, however, it is not preferable for all students to learn it due to the following reasons.

One of the most interesting aspects of the current discussion which demands a keen contemplation is that taking public speaking course as a requirement poses a threat on students’ study. For one thing, it is widely known that nowadays students have plenty of subjects and excessive homework to deal with. Plus, in order to consolidate the knowledge, they are likely to need to spend a lot of time in previewing, reviewing and so on. However, adding another compulsory course, the public speaking course, will take up plenty of their time and add more stuff to their original working load which will impose an even tighter and busier schedule on students. Therefore, taking this course may give them a hard time allocating their energy. As a result, they may be subject to losing focus on their original academic subjects. Therefore, taking public speaking course for all the students is detrimental to students’ study.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing discussion which needs to be reflected is that requiring every student to take public speaking course is harmful for their all-around development. Taking the public speaking course will encourage students to cultivate their public speaking skill. However, in order to be successful in their future career, it is imperative for students to take part in all kinds of extracurricular activities in their spare time, accumulating both theoretical knowledge and practical skills. In other words, there is no guarantee that taking public speaking course will result in a successful future career. Choosing public speaking course as a compulsory course lays too much emphasis on public speaking skill that will distract students’ attention from attending other activities , like doing part time job, field research, travelling, sports and so on. Students ought to do things both indoor and outdoor, both theoretical and practical in order to be a versatile person. Thus, an ideal situation for universities is to offer a bunch of courses which develop different skills and personalities to give students the chances to choose themselves.

Admittedly, taking public speaking course does have advantages. It can help students to conquer the fear of public speaking and have a better performance when speaking publicly. However, better options are available, for instance, offer courses to the students who need to improve their public speaking skills so that they can improve themselves in the spare time.

From what have been discussed above, it is not a discreet choice to require all students to take public speaking course due to the adverse effect it would bring to students' student and all-rounded development.