university should spend money for computer or library

There is a strong debate regarding if the education of students should be done either by books or by computers. Some people believe that books offer more benefits in people's education. In contrast, others say that computer must replace books in this new century. In my view, schools have to spend the money buying computer for the library instead of books for some reasons.

First, because computers endure longer time than books, it is better to get these devices. The library is a place of communal access, which means a lot of people over the school will use computers, so the university has to invest the money in long lasting products. For example, my sister school invested to buy some texts two years ago. However, people who used it did not care how much the book costs, so they were careless about maintaining the product quality. As a result, nowadays the new generation of students did not have books to study with. Unfortunately, my sister belongs to those groups of students that are lacking of book. If the university were bought long lasting computers, the students now could have sources where to obtain information and new knowledge. Nevertheless, this is not the case of this specific school.

In addition to decay later than books, computers also provide unlimited sources of information. In other words, the variety of data in the internet is so great that any other form of literature, as books, can compare. Thus, the schools should invest money in the devices because students can get a broad and diverse knowledge. For instance, in my last year of university I had to write my thesis. In order to extract different data, I needed distinct information from newspapers, magazines, particular articles, books, etc. Because I had not computer at that time, I was able to obtain all these data from the internet in the library for free. Not only articles, but also books were available online. To me, it was so convenient because I was not limited by one source, instead I had unlimited information with a mix of sources. Therefore, my thesis was really successful just because I provided lots of information from the computer.

To sum up, schools must buy computers rather than books. These machines not only endure more, but also provide different kind of data from different types of sources. Thus, the benefits of these technological devices are more convenient for students than any other sources, including books.